Day 30 Self Portrait photos

_DSC0044 copy

 

_DSC0044 copy 2

 

  • Date taken: 21/02/2013
  • Location: My Garden
  • Settings: Shutter Speed 1/2000 | Aperture f2.8| ISO 100
  • What do you like about this photo? How well does it work?

I have chose to upload the same photo twice with different edits the original image is a bit orangey but the edited one has better white balance and captures the more natural colour of the garden and my skin colour. I like how my shadow is very dark and in focus as well to emulate my pose. I like how the shadow in both corners is slightly used as a framing technique to frame me. I like the composition as I am in the center but my shadow is slightly offset. I think the orange one is slightly wrong because it is too orangey but it still looks good, as does the edited one.

  • What did you learn from this experiment? If you had to take this photo again what would you do differently?

I learned that when taking self portraits using self timers and tripods you have to make sure you are in a position where you are all in focus and not to close as I experienced this a few times because the camera only focuses on the first shot then uses the same focus for the  next few as I used a nine shot mode so I got quite a few that where out of focus but some good ones.

If I was to do it again I would try doing just one and getting the focus right and standing In the focus point area.

 

Leave a Reply

